NSF Summer Institute on Nanomechanics, Nanomaterials, and Micro/Nanomanufacturing

NSF Fellowship
Yip-Wah Chung (Director) received his PhD in physics from University of California at Berkeley in 1977. He is currently professor of materials science and engineering at Northwestern University. His research activities include surface science, tribology, and thin films. He was twice named Teacher of the Year in Materials Science and Engineering at Northwestern and received the SAE Ralph A. Teetor Engineering Educator Award. He was a visiting fellow of Japan Society for Promotion of Science, fellow AVS, fellow ASM International, and fellow STLE. He was elected Director of the American Vacuum Society in 1998 and Chair of the Advanced Surface Engineering Division and won the National Storage Industry Consortium Technical Achievement award for developing nitrogenated carbon overcoats for use in hard disk drives today. He won the ASME Tribology Division Innovative Research Award in 2002. He served as director of the NSF-IUCR Center for Engineering Tribology from 1987 to 1992, and then as department chair from 1992 to 1998. He is serving on the Editorial Board of Tribology Letters, the Executive Committee of AVS Advanced Surface Engineering Division, and the Technical Books Committee of ASM International. Between 2003 and 2005, he served as program director of surface engineering and materials design at NSF. He was a member of the Hong Kong Research Grants Council from 1993 to 2003 and is currently chair of RGC’s central allocation subcommittee. For his service, he was awarded the Bronze Bauhinia Star Medal by the Hong Kong SAR Government. In addition to over 180 publications, he has authored two textbooks: Practical Guide to Surface Science and Spectroscopy and Introduction to Materials Science and Engineering. He is also a passionate pilot and has received several FAA ratings, including commercial multiengine instrument and advanced ground instructor.

Ted Belytschko (Co-director) obtained his PhD in Mechanics from Illinois Institute of Technology in 1968. He is currently a Walter P. Murphy Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Northwestern. His interests are in computational methods ranging from the molecular to the continuum scales. He pioneered nonlinear finite element methods for crashworthiness, prototype simulation and weapons effects calculations and has contributed extensively to finite element methods. He was elected to the U.S. National Academy of Engineering in 1992 and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2002. Among the honors he has received are: the Von Neumann Medal, (2001), the Timoshenko Medal (2001), the Gauss/Newton medal (2002), ISI 97 Most Cited Engineers (2001), the Theodore Von Karman Medal (1999), the Baron Medal (1999), the U.S. and Japanese Computational Mechanics Awards and an Honorary Doctorates from the University of Liege, Ecole Centrale Paris and University of Lyon. He is editor of International Journal for Numerical Methods in Engineering and founding editor of Engineering with Computers. He is past Chairman of the Engineering Mechanics Division, ASCE, (1981-1982), past Chairman of the Applied Mechanics Division, ASME, (1990-1991) and past President of the U.S. Association for Computational Mechanics, (1992-1994).

Wing Kam Liu , (Co-director), Walter P. Murphy Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Northwestern University and ASME Chair of Nanotechnology Council, received his B.S. from the University of Illinois at Chicago in 1976; his M.S. in 1977 and Ph.D. in 1981 both from Caltech. Professor Wing Kam Liu has made extensive and far-reaching contributions to engineering and scientific simulation. He has developed new finite element methods, such as the Hughes-Liu shell, explicit-implicit methods and bridging scale methods, that have been implemented into many commercial and research codes, including the widely used programs ABAQUS, LS-DYNA and Tahoe. Recently, he spearheaded the development of meshless and multiscale methods, and developed new methods for applying quantum through continuum methods to design of high strength steels, cemented Carbide, low power nanoscale devices and energy generation materials. He has developed the powerful 3D immersed finite element method (IEFEM), for modeling the electrohydrodynamics of nano wires and filaments and bio-molecules. Selected honors include the 2007 John von Neumann Medal from US Association of Computational Mechanics (USACM); the 2007 Robert Henry Thurston Lecture Award, the 1995 Gustus L. Larson Memorial Award, the 1985 Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal and the 1979 Melville Medal, and the Computational Mechanics Awards of the International Association of Computational Mechanics (2002), USACM (2001), and the Japanese Society of Mechanical Engineers (2004); the 1989 Thomas J. Jaeger Prize by the International Association for Structural Mechanics in Reactor Technology; and the 1983 SAE Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award. Liu chaired the ASME Applied Mechanics Division and is past president of USACM. He is listed by ISI as one of the most highly cited researchers in engineering. He is the Editor of Computational Mechanics and the International Journal of Applied Mathematics and Mechanics, Honorary Editor of International Journal of Computational Methods, Honorary Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal of Nonlinear Sciences and Numerical Simulation, and serves on numerous editorial boards. Liu has written three books: Nonlinear Finite Elements, Meshfree Particle Methods, and Nano Mechanics and Materials.

Jian Cao (Co-Director) received her Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from M.I.T. in 1995. She is currently a Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Northwestern University. During her tenure at Northwestern, she took a one-year leave at General Motors and a two-year leave at the National Science Foundation as a program director. Her primary interests are in the mechanics analysis and design of macro/micro metal forming and composite sheet forming processes. Professor Cao is a fellow of ASME and her awards include NSF CAREER award, Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award, Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award, the Young Investigator Award from the Japan-US Flexible Automation, and most recently the Young Investigator Award from the ASME Applied Mechanics Division. She is an associate editor for the ASME Journal of Manufacturing Science and Engineering and the ASME Journal of Applied Mechanics. Prof. Cao is the vice Chair of ASME Manufacturing Engineering Division, an executive board member of SME North America Manufacturing Research Institute.